Premed 101 Forums

Premed courses at York University

Guest premeditated

Guest premeditated

Hello all ... long time lurker, first time poster 8o

I'm a Psychology undergrad at York University (B.A. Spec. Hon.). I'm wondering about what chem/bio/physics course I should take in order to best prepare for med school in Ontario. I'm looking at some of the intro physics/chem courses for next year (4 credit, 1 term: chem1500 and phys1510) and wondering if they might be too basic. How far should I run with bio/chem/phys before I can feel confident about having an appropriate knowledge base?

Can anyone offer any input on fulfilling bio/chem/physics requirements with York course offerings? Any experiences?

Many thanks!

Guest squeegy80

I say you shouldn't waste your time taking any additional courses other than the necessary prereqs for your med school of choice, so just find out what those are and go from there. I've heard that the short review period at the beginning of first year gets everyone on an even level fairly well, so don't waste you time on extra courses unless you have extra time.

This thought is not based on experience, however, so you might want to wait for other responses.

Hope this helped,

squeegy

Guest codloghorn

the courses you mentioned will not fulfill any prerequisites for medical school. they will prepare you for taking introductory chem/bio/physics courses. i disagree with squeegy. at york, there is hardly any review. you must take chem 1500 and/or physics 1500 in order to succeed.

Guest CareBear15

Ii'm a York science graduate and I've never heard of the chem/phys courses that have been mentioned so far. I think PHYS 1410 is the best course to go for physics, as it covers material for the MCAT and it can also be used as your third science course with lab for Western.