Premed 101 Forums

NSERC Starter

ysk1

Hi,

I'm a second year student who didn't declare my major yet.

This year I'm going to apply for NSERC for the first time.

At my school the deadline is this month.

I've never done this before so I have no idea about the process.

My school's advisors said I first need to pick a supervisor who studies your area of interest.

But the problem is that I don't know what my area of interest is except that I'm interested in biochemistry, biology, or chemistry lol..

In front of the advisor I was too embarrassed to admit that I don't know my area of interest.. But isn't it normal for people like me who is in second year and who never did any real research before to not know your research interest area?

I don't even know how to pick a supervisor...

Do I just randomly approach a prof I picked in mind and ask him/her to be my NSERC supervisor?

Thanks.

1. Go to a prof you want to work with.

2. Get him/her to sponsor your NSERC application in the department he/she works in.

3. ...

4. Profit!

When I started out, I just went to the only prof I knew in my department and asked if he would sponsor my NSERC application. Luckily he said yes (and did biomaterials/tissue engineering research) and 3 summers of decent employment was born. I would look more into the type of research each prof does and what interests you. If you do something you don't like, you will end up hating it a lot.

Each department usually has a set number of NSERC awards. By NSERC's standards you really only need a 70 average or so, but it is the department that usually ends up with the final decision. It is usually just done by marks.