Premed 101 Forums

When will Normed publish it's list of requirements

Guest gfunk

Guest gfunk

Hello,

I am new to this whole posting thing, but I would just like to ask if anyone knows when the Northern Ontario Medical School will post it's requirements in regards to 2003 entry. I don't know, but to admit students for fall entry, they should have at least posted some information on pre-requisites if any. As well, will it be like the Mac program? I don't know but a lot of the references they are using seem to refer to rural programs at other universities globally. This can be good and bad. I just hope that the standards will be the same as any other med school in Canada.

Thanks,

G

Guest aneliz

The latest article published in CMAJ this past week said that the Northern School will likely be delayed at least a year in opening(until Sept 2005 at the earliest). Given this delay, they won't start taking applications until fall 2004, and likely won't have their requirements up until early 2004 as my best guess...If they are an OMSAS school (as they likely will be) they will have the application details on the OMSAS site July of the year prior to the first class starting - likely July 2004.

• 3 weeks later...
Guest macdaddyeh

Hi everyone:

I just spoke with people at both OMSAS and NORMED and both seem to have come (loosely-speaking) to the conclusion stated above. That is, that things are *not* ready or on-track to have admissions requirements, school info etc published in the OMSAS on-line brochure within a month. Both offices advised me, however, that if that changes it will be announced before publication time on the respective websites.

Sorry; I know it hurts for those who have a love for or connection to the north:rolleyes

Guest Tanya24

Just to add to aneliz's comments, the NORMS has now officially announced it's intention to delay opening by one year; Sept. 2005. It made the front page of several Northern Ontario newspapers today.

Tanya.