Premed 101 Forums

UK med schools: Nottingham or SGHMS??? Help please

Guest QuestionMan23213

Guest QuestionMan23213

Hey guys,

I got into St. Georges and nottingham for 5 year meds. Can anyone offer any advice on which one to choose? I personally liked nottingham far more and was more impressed with the students/campus etc and the fact that u get to graduate twice with 2 degrees within the 5 years. SGHMS was an old campus, and people were not very friendly but it is part of Uni of London which may be more reputable. My intent is to return to Canada when i complete (though i know its difficult). I do know of 2 others that went to Nottingham and were abel to match for residencies at UBC (internal meds).

Would nottingham be the better bet? Guess i want to know which is the *better* school?

Btw, I am a BSc graduate from Canada.

Thanks for your input,

QMan:)

• 2 weeks later...
Guest ukmedschool

Hey

I might be kinda biased because I got into SGHMS. Anyways - I agree that seeing SGHMS is kind of a shock, especially coming from Canada (I go to Western) - so that was kind of a turn off. It is also in the poorer part of London - which is also isn't a "draw". I guess you have to look at the fact that it isnt a "university" and really isnt the same at Nottingham because it doesn't offer a range of programs - basically SGHMS is the only free standing medical school that pretty much offers medicine and nursing. (Nottingham is more of a Western / UofT)

The rankings, however, show SGHMS as the top ranked medical school in London - and is ranked 10 in the UK out of their 24 med schools(Nottingham is ranked 18). These rankings are according to the Times and are based on teaching style and what not (if the campus was a factor - I am sure it wouldn't be as high up there).