Premed 101 Forums

Hi, I'm currently studying in UBC Pharmacy, about to finish up within a couple years and just had a few questions.

1- Honours degree requirement.. The BSc Pharmaceutical Sciences - is just that, there is no Honors degree option. Will my degree be considered in their honors' category since my school does not offer a honors degree in pharmacy?!

2- OOP students.. According to the website they seem to be OOP friendly.. but according to the threads that I see, and the facebook group for 2012, it doesn't seem like any of the students came from out side of Ontario at all... so for those that know, are OOP's really on the same playing field as the IP's?

3- Interview format... - how is it like? did UWO adopt the MMI as well? or is it still a standard 3-1 interview?

4- Admissions criteria breakdown.. At UBC, GPA = 25%, Extracurrics = 25% and Interview = 50%.. these are the factors used to determine admission. Does anyone know what it looks like for UWO?

5- Location... where is UWO (Schulich School of med) located? In a urban area? or rural?

Thanks in advance!

1- Honours degree requirement.. The BSc Pharmaceutical Sciences - is just that, there is no Honors degree option. Will my degree be considered in their honors' category since my school does not offer a honors degree in pharmacy?!

The rule of thumb seems to be that if your degree will let you apply to grad school, it will be considered. I'd be almost positive you're ok, but I'm just a random student. If you're uber-paranoid, get confirmation from the admissions office. Maybe just don't do it for a few weeks, since they're probably swamped right now.

2- OOP students.. According to the website they seem to be OOP friendly.. but according to the threads that I see, and the facebook group for 2012, it doesn't seem like any of the students came from out side of Ontario at all... so for those that know, are OOP's really on the same playing field as the IP's?