Premed 101 Forums

Canadian doing DO in US

Oly

There seems to be only one sad convesation about this topic.

It would be great to hear from Canadians that are taking this route.

I am completely committed to DO, I love what osteopathy stands for and I hate allopathy, I refuse to do a MD, if it turns out that a DO is not a worthy path for a Canadian to take, I rather not be a doctor at all. (I am currently in my 3rd year of a kinesiology undergrad at york)

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

That's true. From what I've read on SDN from Canadians studying DO in the US, they certainly did not take that strong of a repulsive attitude towards allopathy, if anything it's what approach they preferred more rather than what keeps them out. I'm kinda curious too, what is your reason for such a negative reaction?

fyi, on SDN there are a number of Canadians taking DO in the US in the Canadian forum, so maybe you can take a look!

First of all, I love my MD. They are not all bad.

I never wanted to be a doctor because I don't like to think in reductionist terms. Magic bullets to solve unhappiness, stomach pain and lack of friends, it's just not my style. I like the hands on approach.

I was interested in getting involved in health policies because I wanted to create change in the world, so doctors would care, and spend time with their patients. I wanted doctors to take into consideration the social, psychological (etc etc) factors of a person, rather than look at them as a problem and fix the problem.

Turns out, they already exist, voila DO, everything I ever stood for.

PS. my alternate plan is Physiotherapy

First of all, I love my MD. They are not all bad.

I never wanted to be a doctor because I don't like to think in reductionist terms. Magic bullets to solve unhappiness, stomach pain and lack of friends, it's just not my style. I like the hands on approach.