Premed 101 Forums

Mon francais est faible; ca va creer des problemes?

I guess you would have to pass the french test as well, since you've studied in an english institution. If you can pass the Test de francais international, and if you can do well in the interview,...yes, you can definitely take a shot at it. I would suggest to check out the sample of the test online (i think there is a sample on UdM's website or even on ETS' website....ETS is the third party company who offers the test). If you think you can get 875/950 (which is the passing mark, I believe), then try! However, im not sure if you have applied already, but the deadline to apply at UdM atleast was Feb 1st. And the next date you can take the french test is Feb 28 (atleast in ontario)

I'm an anglophone student currently studying medicine at UdeM. I attended an English public high school, followed by an English Cegep. Apart from the weekly obligatory French courses, I did not obtain much instruction in the language. I never thought I would end up attending a French school...that is, until it was my only option.

I suggest that you apply; make sure to pass that French test, because it really isn't as easy as the French students might make it seem. And as for the interview, relax; they aren't judging your quality of French (which was already examined when you previously wrote the test!), but rather your character. So be open, be smart, and don't be scared to talk despite your weakness in French.