Premed 101 Forums

How competitive are Canadians at US Dental Schools?

Guest Hydeus

Guest Hydeus

I was just wondering how competitive Canadian students are in the states. There are many more people applying to dentistry south of the border and it seems to me like only a few Canadians are accepted each year to a few schools. If we have a 3.4 average, would we be considered over a US student who has the same average?

I was just wondering how competitive Canadian students are in the states. There are many more people applying to dentistry south of the border and it seems to me like only a few Canadians are accepted each year to a few schools. If we have a 3.4 average, would we be considered over a US student who has the same average?

I am very interested in this myself... I know that US schools have a different way of calculating gpa, so in terms of a canadian gpa, what would be competitive for the us schools, on average...

I graduated from UBC and our school uses percentages

In US GPA

if you get A- (80% in UBC), A or A+ you have 4.0 for that course

if you get B+ (ie 77%) you get 3.5 for that course

If you get B or B- you get 3.0 for that course

C+, C or C- would get you a 2.0 and so on

What people do in US is that they add the GPA for individual courses and divided by the number of courses you take that term

for example

if you have 5 courses this term and your grades are A, A-, B+, A and A

(4.0 x4 + 3.5)/5 = 3.9 that would be your GPA

This system has it's advantage and disadvantages

for example, my overall UBC average is 80%..

and theoretically I should get a 4.0 GPA

However, I did better on some courses than the other ones...

ie. 75% on Microbiology and 85% on cell biology

yes, the average of those two courses are 80%, but in terms of US GPA, this is only a 3.75

The message is..try to get 80% above in all courses..

If you have staright As then you will get 4.0

Don't try to get over 80%, because it's useless,