Premed 101 Forums

have no idea how carms works

drAA

Hi!

Im a canadian premed student who got interview invites for this year at several med schools. I only applied to french faculties so my interview will be in the 19th of april.

Anyway, my question concerns the CaRms and the specialties:

- I have NO idea how it works! Is anyone of you well informed how it works?

I actually visited the website, read the conditions and how to apply, checked the statistics and everything but still some words made it hard to me to understand what they are talkin about!!! Ok, i know you will tell me it is still early to think about specialties and Carms but I'd like to know whow hard it is to get into the specialty I want. I have actually visited few fac's websites and checked how they look at the application and how they evaluate it but i have no idea:

- what are the chances for an OOP to be accepted in the specialty he wants? (let us say I, a quebec resident, apply to Alberta..)

- what is matching and what is meant by it?

- If uyou graduate from X school, do u have more chances to be accepted in the spcialty u want in this school or this works only for med admission?

- whats the ratio of havin the specialty u want? I saw some VERY HIGH matching percentage at CaRms, is this the percentage of the applicants accepted in the specialty they want?

- what happens if I dont get in to X specialty and apply, during the second iteration?

- having said this, what is the difference between first and second iterations?

- last question i swear: when applying to CaRms can i apply to all the 17 med schools for specialty but i am limited to one specialty during the first iteration or am I limited to only one school choice?

- how hard is it to get into surgery?

I would really appreciate if some really well informed med student replies to me and thank you guys!

No need to know ANY of this at this point, but here are 2 cents..