Premed 101 Forums

My chances for an interview

Hey,

I am an Alberta resident. Currently in my 4th year at U of C doing a bio science degree.

My stats

1st year: 3.63

2nd year: 3.3:( :(

3rd year: 3.77

4th year: 3.94 (hopefully!)

best 2 years: 3.85

cGPA: 3.65

I dont have incredible ECs: around 200 hours volunteering at hospital, volunteered in Thailand for 2 months, working as a nursing attendant in OR and porter, did a little research over 1 summer but hoping to continue that for next year. I dont have much leadership positions though:( (only thing I can think of was being youth coordinator for my church and assistant captain for my high school basketball team).

I havent written my MCAT yet but im hoping to get something over 31

I am really excited that U of C and U of A are increasing their number of seats to 180, but still I feel all the students in bio science want to get into med school.

So what do u think, am I realistically competitive enough to get in?

Any comments/suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

thanks

Hey,

I am an Alberta resident. Currently in my 4th year at U of C doing a bio science degree.

My stats

1st year: 3.63

2nd year: 3.3:( :(

3rd year: 3.77

4th year: 3.94 (hopefully!)

best 2 years: 3.85

cGPA: 3.65

I dont have incredible ECs: around 200 hours volunteering at hospital, volunteered in Thailand for 2 months, working as a nursing attendant in OR and porter, did a little research over 1 summer but hoping to continue that for next year. I dont have much leadership positions though:( (only thing I can think of was being youth coordinator for my church and assistant captain for my high school basketball team).

I havent written my MCAT yet but im hoping to get something over 31

I am really excited that U of C and U of A are increasing their number of seats to 180, but still I feel all the students in bio science want to get into med school.

So what do u think, am I realistically competitive enough to get in?