Premed 101 Forums

MCAT Physics - best review?

Everlast

I've been searching through old threads but can't seem to come to a consensus on what review books people think are best for MCAT physics. I am a strong science student but have only studied basic (non-calculus) physics - this was in the first year of my undergrad.

I already have the complete Kaplan book which I used to prepare for the MCAT when I wrote it last year. My physical sciences score was weak (9) and I feel that this is mainly a reflection of my lack of experience with physics. I really did not find the Kaplan book very useful in this area.

I am rewriting in August and this time around I am planning on focusing on doing more practice tests, with an emphasis on doing more physics review and physics questions.

What books are most highly recommended for MCAT physics?

If you do research you'll find that Berkeley Review is best on content and quantity and similarity of passages to MCAT. Mine will be coming in soon so I can tell you.

Nova was runner up, but the passages were too easy, and the discretes go from very simple to very hard in half a page.

TPR is decent. It's very mathematical/calculation based which is good. Practice passages I haven't got to yet, but heresay is that they're a bit easier.

EK I found was terrible, but then again, after doing AAMC after AAMC practice, there really isn't much to know other than relationships in concepts/equations. The passages for EK are way harder than what you'd find on an MCAT. The 1001 book is good for solidfying concepts but its still too micro-scoped for an MCAT.

I found I had scores around 10 on PS despite feeling very uncomfortable with physics.

berkeley is extremely detailed, if you go thru it all slowly youll do really good on this section but it will take you forever to get thru.

nova is more manageable, i would recommend nova unless you are aiming for 13+ in this section.