Premed 101 Forums

The Disadvantage of a Non-BSc.

sch6les

Greetings all,

I am going into first-year university, and am planning to major in Economics at either UofT or UWO (probably UWO).

To prepare for the MCAT, I ask what science courses it is necessary to take first-year. Is it really necessary to take Bio, Chem, Phys, or can one study effectively for the MCAT without taking them?

I have taken Bio, Chem, Phys all in Grade 12, but would rather not continue with them in university, as they are not something I am at all passionate about. I would rather fill my electives with philosophy, etc. And so, I would rather not take these courses in university.

Note: I do realise that certain medical schools have certain course pre-requisites, but I'm not taking this into account at the moment.

Thank you very much.

I studied for MCAT Physics using the Examkrackers book and what I remembered from high school Physics, 5 years before. I did fine, but I probably would have done better had I taken a more recent course.

I think for most of the MCAT you can be fine with a prep book and high school background. The bio stuff isn't anything complicated and I'm pretty sure most of what I covered in first year Chem I covered in high school too. The only section you will likely have trouble with is Organic chem, since (to the best of my knowledge) it's not taught in high school (I'm not talking about the naming of molecules you may have learned).

You might be fine without taking the courses, but those who have taken them will have an easier time than you will. If you're really serious about med school you should aim to ace the MCAT, and rather than paying for a hit or miss prep course, you might as well take the university courses. They will count towards prereqs and help you finish your degree, and they'll give you the right background for the MCAT.