Premed 101 Forums

Does John Hopkins University in the US have a strong medical program?

I am thinking about finishing my bachelor of science degree here in Canada before going over to the states for med school and to practice medicine.

Recently, I was introduced to John Hopkins University as being a top med school.

How is its international reputation? Also, if I graduated from there with a license/degree, would the degree be recognized in Canada if I want to come back?

I am thinking about finishing my bachelor of science degree here in Canada before going over to the states for med school and to practice medicine.

Recently, I was introduced to John Hopkins University as being a top med school.

How is its international reputation? Also, if I graduated from there with a license/degree, would the degree be recognized in Canada if I want to come back?

LOL. Have you written the mcat? what is your gpa? lets not jump the gun - get in first, and then we will see what happens.

BTW, it is basically a step behind harvard.

But imagine if you were already planning on going to Hopkins as soon as you graduated high school? You could build up a pretty ballin' application with all that time...

;)

Most Hopkins matriculants started drafting their personal statements in middle school.

Hopkins is the shizzle. Its the best non-ivy league school (ivy league schools are too snobby for my tastes). I spend my summers at JHMI doing research, they're so ballin' over there, lol. $500 a day to run scans on the 9.4T MRI scanner is like nothing to them. I also met class of '12 last summer, they seemed like lost lamb in a brave new world, LOL. I directed one (only one) new med student in the right direction, therefore I am cool :D. I also am gunning for Hopkins if I don't get into Ontario med. My GPA is there, but my MCAT isn't (hope to fix that later this month).