Premed 101 Forums

Success story

I dont post much on here, but I always liked success stories. So here is mine. I graduated with a BSc honors in molecular biology with a 3.89GPA 5 years ago. I wasn't sure what I wanted so I got a job doing research and moved on with my life. When my son was born 2 yrs later, I knew that I needed to decide where to go with my life. I took my time to decide and when he turned one, I decided to go back to my original thought and pursue a career in medicine. I started volunteering in different areas, and I applied to Ottawa as I hadn't written the MCAT. I knew I wanted 2 kids so I got pregnant again that October. I was happily surprised when I got an interview. My GPA was high, but that's bc I did alot of studying in the summers. My last semester I had 18 credits. But it was a summer semester. So my OMSAS GPA was low and the only way I got an interview was by applying to the french OOP part. I totally screwed up the interview and got a rejection. By that point I had been studying for the MCAT for 5 months, volunteering, renovating my house, raising my son and going through a difficult pregnancy. I wrote the MCAT and got a 27P. My daughter was born 3 weeks later and a month after that I filled my applications to Ottawa and UBC. I again got an interview in Ottawa, but nothing at UBC. This time, I felt the interview went well, but I never got off the waitlist. I rewrote the MCAT that September and got a 33O. I wrote it 3 days past the UBC deadline because the day that I was supposed to write it, my son was having fever seizures and I couldn't bring myself to leave him. I asked UBC to consider taking the second MCAT for this reason, but they wouldn't. I applied again anyways, having a much better application. I also applied to Calgary, McGill and UofM. I was born in Quebec but I now live in BC, so I have the IP advantage for both provinces. I got an interview at Calgary, UBC and McGill, in that order. Calgary went well, UBC not as well but