Premed 101 Forums

Ottawa Health Sciences vs. Biomedical Sciences

Alvi

Hi, I'm currently a grade 12 student who cannot decide whether to accept health sciences or biomed at ottawa u. ive heard that health sciences is much easier and that biomed is a lot of extra work...but i wanted to make sure from someone who has taken these programs. my eventual goal is to apply to medical school but i dont know whether biomed would be preferred since its a more prestigious program than health sciences. if someone could give me feedback about the 2 courses id really appreciate it. thanks

Premed d makes sense.

I do not go to U/O but to a university in Quebec where I study health sciences. It is certainly not a walk in the park, I work my *** of and have no social life, as studies are my no.1 priority and involve very considerable work. Having said that, I feel no pain as I love my course of studies. I am achieving academic success with high marks that increase every year. I have studied emergency care, research methods, biomedical ethics, musco-skeletal anatomy, physiology, biomechanics, neurophysiology, adapted physical activity, the cardiovascular and respiratory system plus the usual electives in random courses like econ, relgion, etc. I take internship courses working with chronic patients having Parkinson's, strokes, MS. I not only love this course of study, it also gives me a Plan B for a professional Masters degree in either P.T. or O.T. to allow me to continue with rehabilitation in the healthcare arena. I supplement this with hospital volunteering involving patient contact and as an EMS volunteer. My course of study is interesting, prepares me for medicine and for an alternative professional future.

Biomed, for me, would not only be tougher in terms of achieving academic excellence (which affects your competiveness as a candidate to med school), but does not nearly prepare one as well for an alternative career at least that coincides with my interests.