Premed 101 Forums

Is this an okay idea?

Last year in UofA i had a 3.4 GPA had some courses i hated but never dropped thus the low GPA. And I'm currently studying for my MCAT which is in August, if everything goes well on my MCAT i will do one more year at uofa. What i was thinking was after i completed one more year at UofA transfer to UofC and finish one more year there and then apply to med school. What do you think?

Just some backround information,

i was one of those laid back type of guys who partied had fun, and never cared for school, but then in grade 12 under the pressure of my parents and bribery i showed up for some of the classes and actually got decent marks to get into university. When i got in i didnt know what to do, engineering seems to typical and wouldnt suit me, and well i love science courses. So i decided to trying some science classes and throw some random options in there just to see the options available. anyways long story short i thought medicine would suit me best, not sure if it will but what the heck lets give it a shot right. and now im here planning a charity event, volunteering and doing something i should have done years ago. I may not have a chance of getting into med school but it a start to something right.

Any advice? even if its not productive its okay, sometimes salt helps to keep people motivated :)

What is your rational for transfering to U of C, and because you'd only be transfering to UofC for one year, you'd still have to graduate with a UofA degree. Also remember all your marks follow you when you transfer. More importantly, for us to answer your question, are you finishing your second year? What is your overall GPA?