Premed 101 Forums

I'm having problems with my undergraduate course selection

Guest Pyrrolysine

Guest Pyrrolysine

Hi guys, I'm a student with plans to go to medical school and I understand the long and tough road to get there.

I need some suggestions.

I'm a student at the University of Toronto who is about to begin first year of studies of Biochemistry(second year student at UofT). I need some advice on my course selection.

Do prospective medical school students need a course in third year physiology in their undergrad program? Is it necessary that I take it for the MCAT?

Do you people think a course in Human Anatomy in my second year is really useful toward my future goal?

If you were a Biochemistry student looking forward to medical school, how would you plan your time table? I'm totally stuck right now, I need some help.

Any advice would be really really appreciated! :)

Guest Kirsteen

Hi Pyrrolysine,

Well done on embarking on the Biochem program--I don't think that's one of the easier ones to gain entry to! As to some bits of advice, here are a few:

a) Most medical school applications that I've seen do not specifically require a physiology course, although you could use a physiology course mark to satisfy many of the "life science" course requirements that appear within applications. If you're going to be tackling the MCAT in the near future then courses like PSL201 or PSL302 will cover many topics that are addressed on the MCAT, e.g., neurophysiology, CV, GI and endocrine systems, etc. Of course, you could always learn these things on your own, but if it is part of your program anyway...