Premed 101 Forums

Advice

Hello,

I am currently a grad student and want to apply to Ontario medical schools next summer/fall. My last two years of marks are pretty solid, EXCEPT FOR ONE COURSE.

Should I try to take the course over again as a grad student? It would not correct my undergrad GPA, but it would appear on my transcript to show that I retook the course to prove I knew the material.

Honestly, I think the only thing you can do now is re-do another year above the cutoff as I'm pretty sure re-doing just one course outside of the sept-may calender year does nothing to boost your GPA. And since it's a repeat, I think they might just average the two marks. The only med schools that replace marks would be DO med schools in the states.

Sorry to be the bearer of bad news... I honestly hope someone else can correct me on this. :confused:

Honestly, I think the only thing you can do now is re-do another year above the cutoff as I'm pretty sure re-doing just one course outside of the sept-may calender year does nothing to boost your GPA. And since it's a repeat, I think they might just average the two marks. The only med schools that replace marks would be DO med schools in the states.

Sorry to be the bearer of bad news... I honestly hope someone else can correct me on this. :confused:

Thanks a lot for the info Rayven.....it does sound like bad news, but if I can find out from ppl here and Med school adcoms that an extra year of undergrad courses would be the best thing, then I would do it

What courses would someone take in a "re-do" year....2nd year life science courses?

Also, I actually did my undergrad in engineering so I dont think I would repeat the identical course that I messed up in (unless that would somehow be preferred)