Premed 101 Forums

Need Some Advice

Naida

GPA 3.2

BSc in Nursing

3.5 years full-time experience working as RN @ Neurosciences Ward

Random Volunteering: tutoring, fundraising

I will be starting all the pre-reqs for the MCAT this September. Then I will do the MCAT. I really want to get into med school - just as everyone else here does. I have lots of experience in the healthcare field and that's where my passion is.

-Do I need physics in order to write the MCAT? Physics is not a pre-req for UBC med School?

-Also, does, anybody know whether the biochems and organic chems can be taken simulatenously or does one build upon the other. Because if that's the case then it'll take 2 years to complete 2 biochems and 2 organic chems!

Please offer me any advice. What do you have to say about nurses/pharmacists and other healthcare professionals applying to med schools???

Physics is on the MCAT, but I wouldn't say that you necessarily need to take it for that purpose... if you wanted, you would be able to learn it yourself... it's not difficult---a lot of high school stuff and basic physics... that said, if you're not strong in physics and don't think you'd be able to learn it youself without having taken a class as a basis, then take it... but if you're good at physics/math (math isn't important, but same concept), you don't need it as long as you study for the MCAT... HOWEVER, physics may be a prereq for some schools (i forget)... i'm pretty sure it def is for the states, could be wrong though

Biochem and Orgo are 90% independent (in terms of material overlap)... i don't want to say 100, because I'm sure higher level biochem does involve a fair bit of orgo, but at the basic level, you don't require orgo in biochem (in my experience)... they are way different... biochem is memorizing stuff... orgo is learning about organic chemicals, their properties, reactions, etc etc (very problem solving based nature)