Premed 101 Forums

Undergraduate Exchanges

handleyj

So long as you keep performing to the same standard over there, it's not a problem so far as I know.

It is quite true that different countries have different marking systems, but the OMSAS and pretty much every other school in North America uses what are called WES tables to convert the grades. It's essentially a world standard formula for figuring out grade equivalencies between different educational systems. I studied in the UK for a bit and even though my transcript marks are 60s and 70s, these are counted as 3.9s and 4.0s so far as my GPA is concerned.

Just google WES GPA and you'll find lots of info. If you're choosing to study in a foreign language that's obviously going to be more of a challenge for you, but living abroad is a wonderful experience, and it looks good on your CV as well.

Best,

Neptune.

I did a search and could not find the answer I am looking for.

I would like to do an Undergraduate exchange in the winter semester of my 3rd year.

Where are you planning on exchanging to?

I think you are taking the right approach by seeking out more information - probably want to contact the schools directly as well.

Just found this on the OMSAS website:

Credentialing of Foreign Grades

Applicants, Canadian or non-Canadian, who have not met minimum course number criteria utilizing their Canadian or US data, and who require inclusion of their international education data, must have their foreign transcript assessed by World Education Services (WES). WES assessment greatly assists in the consideration of the application. Credentialing assessment means converting foreign academic credentials into their Ontario educational equivalents. Provision of the WES assessment does not replace the requirement for official transcripts.