Premed 101 Forums

In 4th year - should I do 5th year?

JOy

So, I was thinking of doing a master degree and then find a job in health sciences, but then I figured I want to try med school. I am in my 4th year and need to make big decisions. My undergrad GPA is good but not good enough for medical school. If I go the best 2 years route, could I use my 4th year and 5th year marks (hoping they will be great) and could I apply during my 5th year? (4th year now, apply next year during 5th year)

Please and thank you.

So, I was thinking of doing a master degree in find a job in health sciences, but then I figured I want to try med school. I am in my 4th year and need to make big decisions. My undergrad GPA is good but not good enough for medical school. If I go the best 2 years route, could I use my 4th year and 5th year marks (hoping they will be great) and could I apply during my 5th year? (4th year now, apply next year during 5th year)

Please and thank you.

You can use your 4th and 5th year but make sure if you are planning to apply to western that you follow very closely the rules for a 5th year. The other best/last two years schools are less strict than western in regards to the year's contents.

You can apply to Western during your 5th year and be accepted conditionally on the results of that year.

And make sure you're taking a 5th year in order to graduate, not because you want a better GPA. If you take a 5th year only for boosting your GPA and not for completing requirements for your degree, it won't count.

So, if you have 20 credits at the end of 4th year and meet all the requirements of your degree, if you take a 5th year and still take required, but unnecessary courses, it won't count?

So, if you have 20 credits at the end of 4th year and meet all the requirements of your degree, if you take a 5th year and still take required, but unnecessary courses, it won't count?