Premed 101 Forums

Grad school and mcat

Hi guys. I am starting graduate studies in January. I have been working full time during the summer and recently I decided to start working part time in order to study for the MCAT. I have been studying for the MCAT on and off when I have the time. I was wondering has anyone found it difficult to study for the MCAT while in grad school?

I am not sure if I should write the MCAT in January or wait and write it in March so I have more time to study and prepare, but I am not sure if I would have the time to study while in grad school?

What should I do? Should I sign up to write it in January and start studying hardcore now or wait and write the MCAT in March?

Hi. I'm a grad student in the third year of a Ph.D. program, and I'm planning on taking the MCAT in January. My advice to you would be that if you're just starting your grad program in January, then definitely take the MCAT in January instead of March, as long as you think you can be prepared by then. In my experience with both my Ph.D. and my master's, the first month of grad school is the time when you'll have the least to do, and things just start to get worse from there. So if you can take the MCAT in your first month before things get totally crazy, then do it. By the time March rolls around, you might have so much other stuff to do that you really won't have gained too much extra study time anyway.

Thank you for your advice astrogirl. Can you elaborate on how and why do things get crazy in the third and further months of grad studies?

Were you TAing while in grad school so that made things stressful in March? Is it because you are doing lab work and taking classes at the same time, meeting with the advisory committee etc? What other stuff would I be doing in March while in grad school for a MSc that would make it difficult to write the MCAt in March?