Premed 101 Forums

How many canadians still have no US interviews?

Starting to get a bit discouraged...I applied to 15 schools and still not a single interview (but 2 rejections)...my stats are good, 33 Mcat, 3.87 gpa, EC decent (lots of research + pubs/presentations, clinical experience, sports, club exec, mentoring etc..)

Oh, I also applied relatively early, with most of my secondaries complete by end of Aug/early Sept. It's my first time applying.

well I don't think it's the LORs, I think they're all good....and then again, how do you find out whether it's one of the LORs that has a red flag?? :confused:

I tried contacting one of the schools I got rejected from to get feedback but they said they have too many applicants to give personalized advice blah blah blah

regarding the schools I applied to, they're all mid to high tier, but I don't really want to apply to low tier schools as I want to be involved in research during med and unfortunately the best research opportunities are in the higher ranked schools...so I guess I'm stuck waiting and hoping!

well, it's not so straightforward though.. Higher tiers usually have a median of 35-36, which means that 50% of accepted applicants have lower than that...and 33 is still 90th percentile so it shouldn't be that bad :confused:

Yes the median is 35-36, but you're forgetting probably 2 things that may skew the median.

One would be URMs that are accepted (who usually have lower MCATs), and the other is that internationals are always evaluated at a higher standard, especially at the higher tier schools. In fact, I'd probably wager that you need an MCAT equal to or greater than the median to get accepted by those schools. (unless you have some OUTSTANDING ECs)

Yes the median is 35-36, but you're forgetting probably 2 things that may skew the median.