Premed 101 Forums

How much do you study?

I was just trying to get an idea about how much the average medical student is studying. I am a first year med student at an Ontario school. I am passing my courses comfortably but not doing particularly well (about 1 to 1.5 standard deviations below average). I know I am not studying as much as most of my colleagues but I am not sure by how much.

I study about 15-20 hours a week with a moderate amount of cramming before exams in addition to going to most of my classes.

I am not particularly concerned with my marks (I can live with the fact that people are smarter than me) but I want to know if the reason why I am not performing as well as the other people in my class is because they are working much hard than I am.

Thanks in advance.

I've never kept track of how much I read, but 15-20 hours/week doesn't sound like you are slacking off (unless you are counting "studying" in front of the TV or somesuch). I would focus more on the quality and yield of the time you spend.. are you focused during your study time? are you happy with the strategies you use? Plus, everyone enters with different backgrounds, and everyone learns differently and at different speeds, so it may be less useful to compare yourself with others than to simply try working harder/better during the next block, and see if your performance correlates with time spent studying.

I am not lieing. But i think you are not studying enough. I don't think i am too naturally gifted but i have about 20-25 hours a week of class and i study about 5 hours a day (between classes + home) and on the weekend about 7 hours a day. This is actually sitting at my desk not including breaks, Ec or work. If you are below average, you should definitely pick up your marks if you want a chance at med or dent.

Everyone is different! I study 10-15 hours/week and did very well in first semester. However, I'm anticipating it ramping up this semester. Your mileage may vary.