Premed 101 Forums

What Undergraduate is Best?

Pristrom

Hi all,

I'm currently in CEGEP and I'm applying to McGill. What undergraduate program would prepare you well for medicine and is relatively easy to achieve a high cGPA? Any suggestions of specific programs at McGill? How is Microbiology, Immunology, Chemistry, Biochemistry, Biology and Neuroscience? Please let me know your opinions.

Thanks!

Apply to Concordia as well - I am a straight A student in B. Sc. Exercise Science - Specialization in Clinical Exercise Science. I work very hard to achieve my grades and it is doable, I don't know about McGill. The advantage of this program is that you actually apply your theoretical knowledge with patients in clinical settings, thereby reinforcing your knowledge, developing communication and other professional skills - making you a better candidate and preparing you for another area of healthcare as a backup, e.g., O.P.

I also do EMS volunteering at Cote St. Luc. So, I work with emergency pre-hospital trauma patients and also with elderly chronic patients!

At McGill, one of our so-called Ivy Leagues, I can only imagine that a high GPA is much more diffficult to achieve. Med school could not care less where you do your UG, it is all about GPA and for McGill, volunteering and ECs too. GL!

I disagree. I would not choose Concordia under the pretense that it would be easier to get a good GPA.

The bottom line is this (and if you do a SEARCH, you would know this already): Choose a program which suits your interests. Don't forget that if you hate every class you're taking, then you likely won't get very good grades. Med schools accept people from science, arts, music etc.... In fact, an admissions officer once told me that your undergraduate major is not even a factor in your application (However, if you are planning to apply to french schools, it is quite the opposite)