Premed 101 Forums

Orientation

Guest DimitriTheDr

Guest DimitriTheDr

Hey all, i interviewed on 14 March and they never gave us a tour of ANYTHING! I was ushered into a room and there i stayed. Michel D. said that they would organize something later....anyone in the same boat? Wouldn't mind seeing some of the facilities..i'm not from McGill.

Guest AltGab

Hey Dimitri!

How are you! I'm currently a Medp student, and I'm entering med1 with you in the fall. For the MEDP interviews, we organized some campus tours and anatomy tours. If you want, I could do a little tour and answer the questions I can answer. I can also ask to some med1s if they mind showing you the Strathcona bldg with the anatomy, histology room :) . If you are interested, tell me,

Gab

Guest 1984MD

Hi,

There really isn't much to see anyways besides the anatomy and histo labs, which only med students have access too. If you really want to see what the school is like (if they don't organize something for us beforehand), just drop by McMed. The two lecture hall entrances are right next to the room where we waited for the interviews (5th floor) and most of the lectures in med are held here (Martin and Palmer ampitheatre). Small groups are held on the 2nd floor of McMed so you can check that out as well. Cafeteria is on the 5th floor (and during the summer and early fall, there is a terrace that is open so people can eat outside). There is also a computer lab for students that is kind of hidden in the hall way near the caf that leads to the Martin Theatre but you need a med student to let you into the lab.

The library is on the 3rd floor. It's the life sciences library and has all the med and bio related books and journals. McGill has many other libraries and you can check them out at http://www.library.mcgill.ca