Premed 101 Forums

science prerequisites - more than 8 years

alpha

Hello All,

I had a question regarding the science prerequisites, specifically the 8 years limit.

soon it will be more than 8 years that some of mine cegep classes were finished. I have a bachelors in molecular biology, so I was wondering what the conditions are to get an exemption from having to retake them and if it was possible to get exempt as I have continued studying in science.

Hello All,

I had a question regarding the science prerequisites, specifically the 8 years limit.

soon it will be more than 8 years that some of mine cegep classes were finished. I have a bachelors in molecular biology, so I was wondering what the conditions are to get an exemption from having to retake them and if it was possible to get exempt as I have continued studying in science.

Honestly, McGill is pretty cool about it if you have continued studying in science afterward. In my case, they only asked me to re-do my "oldest" cegep science course, which was chemistry 101. Two of my friends had to re-do one physics course (we were all phd students who did their cegep courses more than 8 years ago).

You can email the admission comitee, explain to them your situation and ask them to take a quick look at it. Michel Dansereau usually replies pretty quickly.

• 3 months later...
Hello All,

Did you consider applying as a non-traditional student, they've reserved three seats for students who have a bachelors but have interupted their studies for 3 or more years.

Check the link, thats the new page for non-traditional students:

http://www.mcgill.ca/medadmissions/applying/applicant-categories/non-traditional-pathway-quebec

This is the section I found, which states that having to retake courses under a non traditional path is on a case-by-case basis based on life experiences.