Premed 101 Forums

fess up: how much does McGill cost?

Guest poupsik

Guest poupsik

I tried looking at that website, but I keep getting an error. The reason I am asking this is that I read somewhere that the tuition is ridiculously low, something like $4000. I'd like to know if that's true, because it sounds too good to be true!!

Anyone? PLEASE!!:\

By the way, Ian, I went to your website: http://www.premed101.com and it was great! Thanks so much for all the inside, I especially liked the UBC stats.

Guest bearman14

Hey Poupsik,

Here is the link to a complete breakdown of what our fees will be:

www.mcgill.ca/student-acc.../medicine/

I'm assuming you're in-province. If so, your tuition for next year is $3559, but with all the surplus fees, it's $6,013.69 total. I'm an OOP student, so I pay quite a bit more, but it's still cheaper than almost every other school. From what I understand, the provincial government (the old one) had a tuition freeze at the post-secondary schools, so that's one reason tuition is so low comparatively. Who knows if that will continue with the new government... :eek

See you in August!

Bearman

Guest candybits

I'm a Quebec resident, and last year I paid about $5600 including all the student services fee, notes, microscope rental, etc. It's ridiculously cheap compared to many other medical schools, not to mention the ones in the US! :)

Guest poupsik

Thanks guys!

This really helps, however my curious mind keeps on going!! What about UBC? I've heard that their tuition is relatively low too.

I really appriciate your help!:)

Guest bearman14

Hey Poupsik,

UBC has gone through the roof. They've gone from $4,000 a couple years ago to over $10,000 this year, then up to $14,000 for students entering next year. Here is their tuition schedule:

students.ubc.ca/finance/download/tuitionpolicy_schedule.pdf