Premed 101 Forums

Recommendations for electives

Hi guys

I'm an international student at Saba University and looking to start applying within a few months for some electives in Canada. Does anyone have advice on good schools to do the following rotations:

Internal Medicine

Family Medicine

Emergency Medicine

A bit of a broad topic, I know, but any advice on places you have rotated in these specialties which really stood out to you would be appreciated. Preferably in Ontario, but I'm willing to travel anywhere. Also programs that are more IMG friendly would be the best, since I'd like to do residency in Canada over the US if possible.

Thanks!

There always seem to be IMGs (or soon-to-be IMGs) around in Halifax, but I'm not sure I've met one from Saba - certainly from Ireland and the UK though.

That's interesting, because a large % of our student body is from the Maritimes, and I heard they all like to go back there for rotations. I think I remember that many of them were doing rotations around Antigonish, so maybe that's why you haven't seen them around.

Hi guys

I'm an international student at Saba University and looking to start applying within a few months for some electives in Canada. Does anyone have advice on good schools to do the following rotations:

Internal Medicine

Family Medicine

Emergency Medicine

A bit of a broad topic, I know, but any advice on places you have rotated in these specialties which really stood out to you would be appreciated. Preferably in Ontario, but I'm willing to travel anywhere. Also programs that are more IMG friendly would be the best, since I'd like to do residency in Canada over the US if possible.

Thanks!