Premed 101 Forums

Will premed school choice affect my admission?

Maor36

Hi,

I am a high school student in Toronto going to 12th grade this year. My question is whether there is any difference what university I choose for my B.Sc.? That is, if I go to a more prestigious school, i have more chances to get into med school? (I was particularly interested in McGill) or the other way around, if I go to a less prestigious school, I have less chances? Will it be considered, or are my marks (GPA, MCAT scores) the only thing considered regarding school?

Thanks a lot :)

Welcome and good questions!

Truth is stranger than fiction. With a less prestigious, smaller university, you enhance your chances of obtaining a better GPA, getting to know your profs., having an overall better undergrad experience and the competition diminishes. If you know any physiicians who have university age kids, ask them. More prestigious universities are harder to get in, the competition is fierce and assuming that they accept students with top marks, half will be at the bottom of the class. You enhance your chances for a higher, more competitive GPA my going to a so-called no name university!

GPA is king, the most important element that is essential for candidacy, before adding other factors. So, my advice for what it is worth is: stay away from our so-called Ivy Leagues (and the prestige does not come from the undergrad departments), go to a smaller university, take courses that interest you, have a strong work ethic, prioritize your activities with academics being at the top, stay away from ECs during the first semester and until you do well academically.