Premed 101 Forums

Francophone class

Guest Tal

Hi!

I heard a rumor that someone going to U of O (English program) told me, that many of her friends are in the French program, but do most of their classes in English anyway. I am and out of province applicant, and I am bilingual (well I graduated from French Immersion program) and I was wondering if maybe I would have a better chance of getting in if I applied to the french program, but then I could still do most classes in French (since I really don't know how confident I'd be doing everything in French.) I actually don't know how confident I'd be doing the interview in French for that matter, it's been a while, but I wanted to see if anyone could confirm or deny this rumor and let me know what you think of my idea?

Thanks! And good luck to everyone with interviews!

Guest camillefr

The french program is designed for the canadian francos (outside Quebec) who want to study in totally in french.

but ur right anglos from ontario use the FRANCO-ONTARIO GPA cutoff to get accepted.

Pls see my thread "anglo-ontario can apply as franco-ontario". we had a great informative discussion.

just like I know people in medicine who are from Toronto but apply as Ottawa resident. they put on their sketch, they go to school in toronto and show they come back home for summer for a summer job. but the french program will get harder and harder to get in because more and more people know about it.

Tal,

Remember your interview is in French. If its not up to par, then it may be difficult to get in. An an anglophone student, there are not many (maybe one student, on occasion) who come to our english classes. If you are in the french class, you still have to do your PBL and Physician's Skills Development in french, and if your are not comfortable with that, then it may be really hard on you, and your experience in medicine may suffer because of that.