Premed 101 Forums

Level of French required to get into Quebec Medical Schools

TheTank

Hi,

So here's my situation: I finished my undergrad as an international student at McGill with a GPA of 3.8/4. After my undergrad, I became a Canadian PR with Quebec residency. I have decided I want to study medicine now.

The issue now is that as a Quebec resident, I benefit from the provincial bias of the Quebec Universities. However, my knowledge of French is very basic, leaving me with the option of only applying to McGill.

So what is the level of French required to apply to the Med Schools in Quebec that have a French based curriculum? Do I have a realistic chance of gaining that level of competency in French within a few years?

Alternatively, I could apply to universities in Ontario- but I feel my GPA may not be competitive enough, given the cutthroat competition in that province. I haven't given my MCATs yet.

What do you guys think? Thanks in advance.

Hi,

So here's my situation: I finished my undergrad as an international student at McGill with a GPA of 3.8/4. After my undergrad, I became a Canadian PR with Quebec residency. I have decided I want to study medicine now.

The issue now is that as a Quebec resident, I benefit from the provincial bias of the Quebec Universities. However, my knowledge of French is very basic, leaving me with the option of only applying to McGill.

So what is the level of French required to apply to the Med Schools in Quebec that have a French based curriculum? Do I have a realistic chance of gaining that level of competency in French within a few years?

Alternatively, I could apply to universities in Ontario- but I feel my GPA may not be competitive enough, given the cutthroat competition in that province. I haven't given my MCATs yet.

What do you guys think? Thanks in advance.

You have to be fluent in French in order to perform well in the interview.