Premed 101 Forums

Grad School to Improve Undergrad...same old story

Hey guys,

Sorry to ask this SUPER repeated question, honestly, very sorry, but I just want someone to comment on my current logic :D

ok so I am currently in my 4th year at UofT, my undergraduate career has been 50% horrible, and 50% really good you could say...cried my heart out over my first two years but what can I do about stupid choices we make in life...;)

my cGPA is 3.4, my 3rd year's GPA is 3.78, my 4th year 1st term GPA is 3.95 all OMSAS scale.

I did not apply to med school before my 4th year because I only had one "good" year, and I could only try western's conditional acceptance, but my MCAT verbal, was not only not 11, but it fully sucked so I couldn't even do that...

Now, next summer, I want to write my MCAT (and hopefully get over with this soul-breaker) and apply to schools in Canada and the US.

- My UofT wGPA is 3.72 including my 4th year (assuming second term goes well ;) ) --> still low for UofT I think?

- Ottawa wGPA is 3.77 (2nd, 3rd, and 4th year) --> cut off is around 3.8ish

- I also know that western and Queens look at your last two years and my last two years decently meet their cut offs (right?)

My dilemma right now is about a possible case senario that can happen to me:

this summer, I will write the MCAT and apply to med school, hopefully and fingers crossed everything will be smooth (application process wise)....but since verbal has not been my friend (not so friendly with PS either *sigh*), I am afraid that I might not do well and not be able to apply this cycle again. In this case, I will have to wait an entire year until the next cycle. In this case, two years in total will be "wasted" just waiting for the application and the result...in this time I can either:

1) do a 5th year while waiting for the next cycle and then work in the year after (which can give me a GPA boost if my 4 year application doens't make it)