Premed 101 Forums

What do you do to stay healthy?

Cerena

Here are some things I do:

1) exercise (I love to do dance, thnx to Kyla's thread I'm busting my butt to the gym tmrw to start running again)

2) have a healthy vegetarian diet and ONLY drink water (I've been a baking professionally since age 7 though, so I get urges to bake at least once a week. I try to give away most of it though ;) )

3) take supplements (calc, vit d, fish oil, multivitamin, bilberry)

4) regular sleep cycle

5) do mental puzzles and exercises

6) do not drink alcohol... But I cook with cooking wine.

7) do not eat processed foods, microwave dinners, etc. I like to cook and I like to use fresh veggies.

8) no caffeine... Makes me jittery

All I can think of right now though. Curious what other members do :)

Hm. I used to work as a personal trainer and running coach for many years. I stayed very healthy for a long time, so I don't feel my "real age" now. :)

-vitamins (multi, vitD, CaMg, greens+, omega-3)

-follow the diet that seems to work best for me, which is high protein and low fat

-exercise as much as I can, but still stay realistic about goals

-pet and love my animals

-try to sleep at least 8hrs nightly

-drink water, a lot

-never had a smoke

-do my rehab and work on muscle imbalances

My vice:

-caffeine and other performance enhancers. Some might be able to read what my avatar says. I did quit once, but now I'm just worse than ever. i've accepted the fact that i am either going to be studying or working hard for the rest of my life, and that caffeine is here to stay. Besides, it makes me happy and makes me jump around like this guy: http://www.collegehumor.com/video:1945293

lots of water and fiber

...can't cut the caffeine though...makes me twitch a lot though :P

Here are some things I do:

1) exercise (I love to do dance, thnx to Kyla's thread I'm busting my butt to the gym tmrw to start running again)