Premed 101 Forums

Chances at DMNB

I am currently in my third year of Chemical Engineering. On a 4.3 scale my cumulative GPA is 3.7 with second year being 3.8 and last term being 4.0. I have no volunteer experience aside from tutoring but I am planning on volunteering at a hospital this summer and working at a day camp for autistic children. Provided I score reasonably well on the MCAT this summer, would my GPA and volunteer experience be sufficient to get into the Saint John campus?

I am currently in my third year of Chemical Engineering. On a 4.3 scale my cumulative GPA is 3.7 with second year being 3.8 and last term being 4.0. I have no volunteer experience aside from tutoring but I am planning on volunteering at a hospital this summer and working at a day camp for autistic children. Provided I score reasonably well on the MCAT this summer, would my GPA and volunteer experience be sufficient to get into the Saint John campus?

Remember that those only play a small part in deciding who gets in. The big ones are the essay and the interview, as between these two components, 50/100 points are determined. The fact that you're doing ChE won't give you any benefit, but your GPA is competitive enough, so don't sweat it too much.

• 2 months later...

As far as I am aware, the seats for NB residents are situated at the SJ campus. As the preceding poster mentioned, MCAT and GPA play a little role in your application for a mere total of 25 points. Personally, I would prefer to attend at Dalhousie's Halifax campus (I am here now), but if accepted will be sent back to UNB (did two years at UNB... blah).