Premed 101 Forums

Undergrad requirements for Masters

How important is it to do your undergrad in the same area as a prospective masters program to gain admission?

I am finishing a pretty broad pre-professional program and, as such, am not very specialized in any one specific field. Will this hinder my chances of entering into a thesis masters program?

I have a broad background in a variety of physical and life sciences, but my degree is an interdisciplinary.

I would appreciate any advice about entering into a graduate program, since I am interested in research as a back up to medicine, and if you think it may be worthwhile to do an extra year or two to get a more specialized undergrad degree.

I think this is really dependent on what kind of grad program you want to do and where...

for example, if you wanted to do biochem masters, I hear that they carry value of which biochem courses you've done, and that they would take someone with lower grades but more "specialized" biochem courses than someone with less biochem courses but higher grades.

For something like public health, I feel like it's more experience than course based because there's not really an undergrad in public health or anything, I would imagine that they have prereqs like stats and courses like epidemiology or other related research methods courses could help boost you. ( I realize you mentioned thesis based but this is just used a non-lab example)

I would just consult the schools you are interested in and ask them directly, also, I think having a supervisor and funding arrangements at the time of application helps boost your application a lot...except for the VERY few programs where they insist that they will pick a supervisor for you...

How important is it to do your undergrad in the same area as a prospective masters program to gain admission?