Premed 101 Forums

Which school is my best bet?

Hi everyone!

I was just hoping for some opinions here. I'm currently in second year.

My first year GPA was 3.3, which I know is not good at all.

I'm doing well this year, but I'm afraid that no matter how well I do in subsequent years, my 3.3 will always bring me down.

I currently have around a 3.88 (though the year isn't over). Let's say I get 3.9 (hopefully higher but I feel I should go low when estimating) in 3rd and 4th year, with my 3.3 I would still only finish with 3.75, which isn't exactly competitive.

Which schools don't take every mark into account? For instance, I know Western only uses your best two years. Are there any other schools like this - I'm good with anywhere in Canada.

Would it just be in my best interest to get a really good MCAT score and hope that offsets my 3.75 GPA?

Anyways, if anybody has any suggestions for me that would be fantastic! I just reallllllyyy want to do this and I hope I didn't screw myself over with first year.

Thanks for your time!

I just reallllllyyy want to do this and I hope I didn't screw myself over with first year.

Certainly not, some people have had much worse first years, or even first 4 years.

Just off the top of my head:

Alberta - lowest year dropped (if it's not your only full courseload year)

Sask - best 2 years, but need really high grades as OOP (practically 4.0 in best 2)

Western - best 2?

Queens - most recent 2

Ottawa - most recent years weighted higher, you'll have to look it up yourself

Toronto - if you too a full course load every year, lowest 8 half courses will be dropped, but it's still really competitive academically

There's probably others that I missed...good luck!

Hi everyone!

I was just hoping for some opinions here. I'm currently in second year.

My first year GPA was 3.3, which I know is not good at all.

I'm doing well this year, but I'm afraid that no matter how well I do in subsequent years, my 3.3 will always bring me down.