Premed 101 Forums

Intro + help/advice?

chenoa

Hello PM101!

I just wanted to say I am SO glad I found this forum, it's amazing! Been lurking for awhile and have decided to post . . .

I'm an Ontario BScN student, just finishing up 4th year- writing the CRNE in June :eek:

Since pretty early in uni (although I do enjoy nursing alot and am really looking forward to working as a nurse, at least for a bit) I've been interested in pursuing medicine afterwards. But life (and clinicals!) caught up to me and I didn't give the whole "applying to medicine" thing as much thought as I probably should have . . . and now all of a sudden I find myself done nursing school and being asked "So . . .what do you plan to do after grad?"

I'm just glad to have found a place to 'rant' about the mess that seems to med school admissions but if anyone has answers to my queries, help is appreciated. I'm mostly just confused about the whole approach to pass/fail courses, and eligibility, etc. . .

Some background though: I got a solid GPA out of my undergrad, I tried to calculate it according to the FAQ on OMSAS GPAs (very helpful, thanks) and came out with a 3.96 over the 4 years. I hope I did it correctly- with the pass/fail courses it was kind of confusing. I divided each year's points total by 8 instead of 10 because each semester of school (years 1-3) I have had 1 (0.5 credit) pass/fail clinical course. But my fourth year had a bunch of pass/fail clinicals which I hope won't screw me over too badly :(

I also had two courses I took in between (summer school) 1st and 2nd year but I didn't really know how to calculate them either.