Premed 101 Forums

English Prerequisite

I am currently doing my Masters in Science and will be applying to American school this upcoming cycle. I did not take any English courses during my undergrad. And now, I need to take 2 English courses to fulfill the prerequisite requirement for most of the American schools that accept Canadian citizens.

I have two questions:

1) Do I need to take the English courses by end of Summer or can I take the courses in Fall 2011/Winter 2012 even though I will submit the application by June? My quick research found me that I can take the prerequisite in Fall 2011/Winter 2012 but I just want to confirm this with fellow members here.

2) I am doing my Masters at University of Toronto but after talking to other students it seems there are no easy English courses at my University. I am thinking of taking the two English courses at Ryerson University - The Chang School - I am thinking this should be ok with most of the American medical schools. Any suggestions/comments on this issue?

Thanks for reading and helping. I know some of these questions have been answered on this forum several times. I did take a quick look at first few pages and I think I know the answers but I just want to confirm this again. So Sorry if I am repeating the same questions as asked before.

Also, I would really appreciate if you can provide some info on good/easy English courses for someone from Science background at Ryerson University, University of Toronto and/or maybe at York University. Thanks again.

I will rephrase my first question.

Are there any American schools that require prerequisites to be completed before applying? Thanks for helping.

No. As long as you take the courses before you matriculate, you will be fine.

Ryerson courses will be fine since it's an accredited University, and the process is enrolling in Chang School courses is easy and straightforward...