Premed 101 Forums

What Do I Need For Preparation?

Guest snowpea

Guest snowpea

Ugh! Help! I'm planning to take my MCATs this August, and I'm trying to plan out what I need for studying. I'm totally overwhelmed!

Here's a list of what I know I need:

1) MCAT prep books: how many? any recommendations?

2)AAMC test booklets: What is AAMC V, AAMC III? Are they just different test sets? Should I buy all of them?

3)Globe and Mail: I just subscribed in hopes of preparing myself for the VR. Anything else I should read to prepare?

4)a LSAT prep book: also to prep for VR

Is there anything else I need?

Another question, what can I do to prepare myself for the essay part? Normally, I am just an OK writer, but under pressure and a time crunch, I freeze and I write (mind the language) like crap. I even do stupid things like mix up tenses! Any advice on that?

OK, thank you for all advice, and thank you for putting up with my nonsense babbling. :\

Guest cheech10

Just try to relax. It's still early on and the real worrying shouldn't start until at least July. Here are my tips (and some older threads probably have more info too):

1. I tried the Flowers and Silver book but I found it very basic and I didn't like it at all. Later on I bought the Kaplan book, which I liked a lot more. Go to Chapters, leaf through the whole set of prep books, and choose the one you like most and suits your style best. They all do a great job of covering the main part of the material, although some have slightly different emphasis on different subjects.