Premed 101 Forums

Chances of getting in?

Hey guys been reading up here quite a bit for the last few months and was wondering how my chances look for applying for a US MD for the fall 2012 cycle

I'm currently studying in my fourth year at Waterloo taking Health Studies

Term Units GPA

1st year (fall) 2.5 3.7

1st year (winter) 3 3.51

2nd year (summer) 2.5 3.74

2nd year (fall) 3 3.66

3rd year (winter) 2.5 3.86

3rd year (fall) 2.5 3.84

4th year (winter) 3 3.54

cGPA: ~3.69 sGPA ~ 3.69

MCAT (august 2010) B 9/ Phys 11 / V 10 Writing: Q

Total 30Q

Rewriting MCAT again this august

I have one more semester to complete this fall

I had to take one semester off in the winter of 2nd year due to medical reasons and as a result had my course sequence rearranged a bit so this fall I will require 2 more courses to graduate but am going to be taking a few courses extra to meet the full course load requirement

I have also completed all my science prereqs

I have volunteering experience both in the hospital and in clinical settings at a cardiac rehabilitation center and a cancer patient exercise clinic

I am also an exec member on the pre med society, and have been part of various cultural clubs and the varsity dance team for three years

I haven't had any research positions yet but hope to get some done between the time i finish my undergrad in december and hopefully begin med school in september however I won't be able to add that on my application yet

I am also late in the game in terms of making solid connections with any of my professors but will look to be doing that as soon as school starts as I will be having a few seminar courses which will allow for closer interaction with the professor.

Do I have a shot at the mid tier or low tier schools in the north east?

Your GPA/MCAT is just at/slightly below average for Us citizens applying to American schools (below average for Canadian applicants applying to US schools).