Premed 101 Forums

Any regrets?

Hi,

I am a premed student, and I red few articles that stipulate that a good proportion of med students and residents have regrets and would choose another career if they had to start over.

Medicine is my main goal, but now I am doing a nursing degree and I LOVE it. But now, I hear all the time from nurses that doctors don't get to see patients for more than 2 minutes, they work like hell, they don't have time for themselves, etc.

I would really appreciate to have honnest answers about this question: do you regret your choice of going to med school? Or if not, do you know some students requestionning their choice?

Thanks in advance for your opinions.

I only start premed in the fall, but having spent 8 years in school in computer science (BSc, MSc, 2 years of PhD), I'll say that I think there are people that "regret", reconsider their choices in any career/field. I mean I loved my school program, but I realized it was not what I really wanted. I knew a lady who was an MD, and she decided in her late 30s she wanted to become an engineer instead and went back to school.

In residency, no regrets at any time. But the answer is individual and the points you brought up difficult to generalize.. medicine and nursing are such broad fields, and depending on where you end up, there are going to be jobs that are extremely busy and others that are more relaxed in both.

Regrets? Maybe. I'm not really sure. I'll be 34 when I start my practice, and will have had 10 years of medical training at that point. I'm getting close and starting to see the end of the tunnel, but it is a long haul. I really love my job, but you put alot of things on hold when you're in training for 10 years. Within medicine, all fields are certainly not equal in terms of one's ability to have a life outside of work, that is for sure, so take my opinion with a grain of salt.