Premed 101 Forums

adult add/adhd

meds4life

Hey guys,

I am starting to prepare for the MCAT, but I've been noticing it's taking me a tremendous amount of time to just focus/read chapters, let alone do passages/questions. I looked into adult ADHD/ADD profiles in the past and I match a significant amount of the symptoms. I am going to see my GP this week and I am going to bring it up. I was wondering what exactly, I can do I know I will probably get referred to a psychiatrist, but I want to fix this issue ASAP. Like I said earlier this isn't a recent thing, I've noticed in the past, I put in twice the amount of effort as normal people to just cover lectures/read textbooks, I feel like my mind wanders, when I study start thinking about friends, bad memories etc. etc. I try to stop doing it, I even made a list when I studied today, focusing as hard as a I could and in the span of 1 hour, I had written down 10 other things, I was thinking about while studying. Thanks for the input, it's much appreciated.

I appreciate the quick response, I don't know if this might help at all. But I've been told by friends, family and teachers, that I love negative attention, I don't know if that is a defining trait, by any chance? I also tend to get stressed/depressed really easily like now. I have periods of intense focus, especially when I am super stressed, I have the need to yell stuff out and do hand gestures when I study and fidget a lot too. I am also pretty impulsive. Haha the more I think about it the more confident I have something. On a side note; I've used ADHD drugs (adderall) in the past not-prescribed (25mg) to be exact, I know it's terrible, but I was naiive, I felt like I needed it to cram. It helped me focus a lot, but I knew that high of a dosage was not healthy for me, I would be up for extended periods of time, teeth grinding etc. Any suggestions?