Premed 101 Forums

Stopped a degree a while ago.

Hi, i havnt gone to school in about 3 years. I am entering a new one as a mature student. and I have a unfinished degree from another university. Does it matter? Can i just start fresh or should am I not aloud to do this. :confused: At the University i got accepted to, you are not allowed to of done more then 1 year undergrad which i havnt also you have to of not done full time studies for 2 years. So im okay with that end. but if i finish this new degree and apply to med school will this past unfinished degree from years ago be a issue?

Hi, i havnt gone to school in about 3 years. I am entering a new one as a mature student. and I have a unfinished degree from another university. Does it matter? Can i just start fresh or should am I not aloud to do this. :confused: At the University i got accepted to, you are not allowed to of done more then 1 year undergrad which i havnt also you have to of not done full time studies for 2 years. So im okay with that end. but if i finish this new degree and apply to med school will this past unfinished degree from years ago be a issue?

hmmm as far as I know it won't matter on paper that much other than the simple fact that you still have to report all of your courses when you apply - you can have no duplicate courses still which should have been transfered over anyway, and you go from there. Now there are some specifics - always sounds like I am talking about Western lately but they really have some of the more complex rules I guess - Western will only accept courses from your new degree. If you new degree is long enough - say 4 years - then Ottawa won't be looking at your earlier degree either. Queens used and may still have a last 2 year policy but they seem to be in a bit of flux in terms of updating everyone to what they are doing (the new upcoming OMSAS manual will help with that!). We talk go into other province's rules if you like(?) :)