Premed 101 Forums

Teach for a prep course?

What do all of you think about teaching for a prep course (in general), and teaching for a prep course while going to medical school? It's my first year at Queen's med in September, but I just had an offer to interview with Princeton Review. I can't figure out what they'll pay teachers in Canada (looks like $15-25/hr in Tucson, Arizona :P , which doesn't help me figure much out).

In my personal situation, it would be worth it if I were being paid $20CDN/hr and working about 7 hours a week. (Anything that breaks about $550 a month without committing me to more than the equivalent of 1 day/week means I can get a break on rent...).

I say "worth it," but of course I mean "worth it, unless doing this will make me fail at medical school."

What are your thoughts? Is teaching for Princeton very stressful? I've never been a professional tutor before.

• 2 weeks later...

I'm just giving a cursory description of an ad I got to teach for them.

"Remuneration is $50‐$60/hour for teaching and $20‐$25/hour for prep plus very generous performance bonuses based on student evaluations.

Chemistry (September to April) ‐ $4000 (+ bonuses) for 4 X 12‐hour prep sessions for Exams"

Good to know!

This is not true.

Thanks guys! :) This is really helpful. The prep work to paid work ratio is making me consider against taking the job... Kingston's pretty small. I find it likely that I'd be teaching more than one topic.

But... rent! Hmmm.... :o

Anyway, I really appreciate your opinions.