Premed 101 Forums

Type of Research

Guest nwoforlife2011

Guest nwoforlife2011

Hey everyone,

I was interested in doing some undergraduate research for the upcoming fall semester, but the only volunteer position I was able to land was in the psychology department. As a science student, how would this look on my medical school application? Do adcoms really care what type of research you are doing or do they just like to see any research listed in your application? I'm sure most are gonna say it doesn't matter, but beyond confirming this I want to make sure I will not be seen as someone who could not land a science research opportunity (especially since I am a science student).

Thanks

Hey everyone,

I was interested in doing some undergraduate research for the upcoming fall semester, but the only volunteer position I was able to land was in the psychology department. As a science student, how would this look on my medical school application? Do adcoms really care what type of research you are doing or do they just like to see any research listed in your application? I'm sure most are gonna say it doesn't matter, but beyond confirming this I want to make sure I will not be seen as someone who could not land a science research opportunity (especially since I am a science student).

Thanks

No, I don't believe the adcom would believe that, and I think you should take this opportunity; maybe you can use the lab experience gained from this and get into a research in something you would want. And alot of people will tell ( read the stickies as well) Research is just that extra bit that can make you look good; but at the same time not absolutely necessary to get into medical school.

psychology isn't a science, anymore?

I'm pretty sure it is!