Premed 101 Forums

My chances?

DiegoForlan

• Replies 54
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Hey everyone,

So I'm a student at UdeM i'm finishing a bachelor this year and after 2 years I got 3.8/4.3.

What are my chances of getting into med at McGill?

Thanks all!

Unknown since grades barely matter. Work on your ECs and your letter and good luck.

Hey everyone,

So I'm a student at UdeM i'm finishing a bachelor this year and after 2 years I got 3.8/4.3.

Thanks all!

They say on their website that competitive applicants tend to have a GPA of 3.8 on a scale of 4.

You should ask them how they will convert your GPA to a 4.0 scale.

But yes, ECs matter a lot, especially after the interview.

I guess you have good chances, regarding to the way they proceed in mcgill to choose their candidates.

Effectively, since your an anglophone, your chances are much better than any french speakers'.

In fact, mcgill tend to refuse students who are not anglophones/jews/from montreal/wealthy/knowing someone on the AC, or who own a combination of those characteristics, no matter if their are genius...

Docteur_café.

You seem from Quebec City, it's beautiful.

It's true, McGill takes more jews, anglophones and people from Montreal. I wonder why, really. Maybe because there are more jews, anglophones and montrealers that apply to McGill than to Laval University?

But wait. Maybe because jews are often anglophones and that most of them living in Quebec's Province are living in Montreal?

Saying that you have better chances since you are jewish is like saying you have better chances to get a job in the city of Quebec if you are not an immigrant. It is only true because MORE people from that origin tend to get into university AND aim for medical school.