Premed 101 Forums

Help with employment

OK, so I am looking for 16-24hrs per week employment over the school year.

I have flexible hours, since my schoolwork is through correspondence.

BUT

I can't start until Sept 26th.

I have enough $ saved that I don't NEED to work until December-ish.

I have lots of work experience, chief among them having run my own business in auto repair (surprise!) doing all the office/filing/bookeeping stuff, managing sports retail and personal training.

HELP! Any suggestions?

Option 1 is awesome and now that I have my heart set on it I want nothing else- it's the only job I've applied for.

Option 1:

I applied for a hospital job- health records clerk, admission and discharge. Perfect in every way, except that I can't start until late September. I applied a week ago (well, 2 weeks but the guy was on vacation) and I have not been contacted. I have all the qualifications, but noticed I made a small typo on my cover letter (gah!). I guess I shouldn't freak out since it's only been a week. I have gone in person (that was when I was told that the guy was away) and emailed to ensure they received my resume.

Option 2:

Part-full time reception at a dentist's office in town.

Option 3:

A job very similar to option 1, except in a village of <300 people, ~180km away from my city. I have accomodation here for $350/month. I have no accomodation there. There are fewer recreation opportunities. It is a "casual on call" position of up to 37hrs per week (way too many hours if I am doing coursework) and so technically there's no guarantee of hours. Being the 1st line worker in the nurse's station in a town like that just seems like the most awesome job ever.

Option 4:

Reception in a little gym in town. Evenings (which is perfect, since I like to do schoolwork/training in the mornings) and on the bus route. Con: nothing remotely interesting, and nothing I haven't done before.

Option 5: