Premed 101 Forums

Carolyn Need your advice

Guest Jetson

Hello Carolyn,

I have been reading your posts and wanted to ask you a few things about changing into science after Bcomm.

My background is a Bcomm from Queen's and 2 years work experience in consulting. I really am not suited for this type of work and feel that medicine is the path that I would like to pursue. Now here are the problems. I don't have the science OAC's so I will have to take them in an accelerated program in addition to taking them in University with 2nd year organic,and biochemistry for the MCAT's.

I wanted to ask you how you found the science courses relative to the business courses in terms of difficulty. Also, did you have to complete the OAC's as well?

Finally Carolyn I was wondering what your commerce GPA was as well as your science GPA. I have a 3.7 from commerce, which scares me because I feel that I have to do much better in the science courses to show an upward trend in marks and also to boost my marks, in addition if I take time out to do the courses, do worse and don't get accepted I will have trouble finding another job because I left the workforce to go to med school.

Your input and advice is greatly appreciated. I there are others who are making the transition from science to business please also post your wisdom and guidance

Thanks to all

Jetson

Guest Carolyn

Hi Jetson --

Hmmm... What is wrong with Queen's commerce that keeps pushing us into Meds? Seriously, it was a fun great programme and I don't regret it at all.

I wrote my whole story out in another post called "Carolyn What's your story" in Med Student General Discussion - so you can see the route I took.