Premed 101 Forums

Any information about MPH?

Hi,

I'm in my last year of BSc undergrad and I'm really looking into applying to the Master's programs in public health.

I realized in the last few years that what I really want to do is disease prevention, health promotion, population health... all that public health stuff!

So I was looking at some of the MPH programs but I really don't get much info anywhere so I'm hoping someone can help me:(

Right now I'm looking at:

- MPH in University of Toronto

- MPH in Simon Fraser university

- MsPH in McGill

- MSc santé communautaire in UdeM

- MSc santé communautaire in Laval

- Possibly MSc Epidemio in UOttawa? (I'm not really sure if this will be much of public health stuff)

I have no clue what are my chances to get in (what kind of GPA/CGPA do I need to get in?)

Usually the universities websites say around 75% average but is that really the case or in reality is it much higher than that to actually get accepted?

And which university is known to be the best? I'm a resident of Quebec so I do prefer to go to a university in Qc (so much cheaper) but I wouldn't mind going to the "best known" one for Public Health in Canada.

I'm wondering if it's possible to do a PhD after doing a MPH if I ever want to do research in health science/population health/community health:confused:

Also, can I apply for CIHR scholarships if I go to MPH? Since the programs are course-based (and a "practicum") I'm not too sure if I can apply for CIHR.

Thank you for reading!:)

Hi alwaysnew90 !

I'm glad to see someone else interested in MPH.

I'm also from Québec, last semester of my Bsc and working on my application for MPH.

Other programs that you might want to take a look at :

University of British Columbia,

Alberta

Saskatchewan

Guelph and Queens ( not sure about these)

Here's a link from a the public health agency of canada ( but I think it's a little outdated) http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca/php-psp/master_of_php-eng.php